Sleeping

Late March. E is in Germany. The kids decide they want to sleep together so we all squeeze into little e’s tiny twin bed for a story. Once they’re asleep, I sneak out of the bed. Little e rolls over and curls up against his sister. All I know is, I have to capture this moment on film. I creep back in with my camera and grab a light source. It’s one of those little ghost lamps from Ikea. And it’s green. I take the shot anyway. S frowns up at me, awakened by the shutter. “Mama? What are you doing?” You guys looked so cute. I just had to take a picture. The green is ghastly. A few clicks later and it’s a dreamy sepia. Gotta love the digital age!

© Kiki Yee, 2011

Your thoughts and comments are welcome--please put them here!

