From Princess to Padowan

August 12, 2011 – She was a surprise from day 1. We were expecting a boy. But she was the girl I had been hoping for. Not because I wanted a girl to dress up in froofy outfits but because being a girl myself, I thought I would only know how to relate to a girl. What on earth do you do with a little boy???  For the first year or so, she was often mistaken for a boy because I dressed her in a lot of blue. It looked good on her; it matched her eyes which were a dark, dreamy blue until about 9 months.

By the time she was 2, everything was pink or purple (her choice, not mine). Her favourite Christmas gift when she was 3 was the box of princess dress up clothes from my sister; complete with “high heels”. She bemoaned the fact that I did not give her a “pretty” name, like Butterfly Flower or Petal Flower. She declared I want another princess in the house! All she wanted to watch on tv was The Sleeping Beauty ballet.

This spring, she came home from school, told me she’d been playing soccer at lunch everyday then asked if she could watch the hockey game. Who is this kid? I thought to myself.

Today she is 9 years old, a princess no more. She loves her little brother to bits and I’m quite sure she’s actually relieved that there’s no princess in the house! She’s purged all things princess from her belongings. She loves Calvin & Hobbes. She watches The Clone Wars animated series with her dad. And her favourite Star Wars character is not Princess Leia. It’s Ahsoka Tano, Anakin’s padowan. Guess who she’ll be dressing up as this Hallowe’en?

Happy Birthday my little Padowan! I can’t wait to see how you will surprise me next!

© Kiki Yee, 2011

Your thoughts and comments are welcome--please put them here!

