Constant companion

January  2012 – This Christmas, all S wanted was a doll. Not just any doll. A Maplelea doll. Saila. Lucky girl that she is, Santa made her wish come true. Honestly, at her age, I was doubtful about the doll. I’m so glad to say my worries were for naught. That doll is not just a doll. She is S’s constant companion. She even received a special backpack in which she can carry Saila and all of her belongings. Very handy for taking Saila along on family outings, even bikerides!

I love how she absorbs every detail about Saila’s and the other Maplelea girls’ lives. You see, each doll comes with a journal “written” by the doll and subsequently purchased outfits come with journal pages (some blank ones for your girl and some pre-written ones from their girl). I love how she writes in the journal faithfully each night before she goes to sleep. I love how she and Saila wear matching outfits whenever they can. But what I really, really love is that my little girl is still a little girl.

© Kiki Yee, 2012

3 thoughts on “Constant companion

  1. Awwww….I always wanted a daughter and a daughter-with-a doll is downright heartwarming. I was not aware of the Maplelea Dolls, but they look amazing. My boys were both blue blankie guys but looks like Saila is S’s new best friend. Congrats on your new family member!

Your thoughts and comments are welcome--please put them here!

